Criminal Justice

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Criminal Justice Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This collection provides resources in the areas of law, law enforcement, paralegal, and Homeland Security. Users will have access to 150 journals.

Books and Ebooks

Encyclopedia of Community Corrections Restricted Resource Some full text available
In response to recognition in the late 1960s and early 1970s that traditional incarceration was not working, alternatives to standard prison settings were sought and developed. One of those alternatives—community-based corrections—had been conceived in the 1950s as a system that might prove more progressive, humane, and effective, particularly with people who had committed less serious criminal offenses and for whom incarceration, with constant exposure to serious offenders and career criminals, might prove more damaging than rehabilitative. The alternative of community corrections has evolved to become a substantial part of the criminal justice and correctional system, spurred in recent years not so much by a progressive, humane philosophy as by dramatically increasing prison populations, court orders to'fix'overextended prison settings, and an economic search for cost savings. Although community correction programs have been in place for some 40 years now, to date no comprehensive reference resource has tackled this topic. Accessible and jargon-free and available in both print and electronic formats, the one-volume Encyclopedia of Community Corrections will explore all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception.

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Print Location: REF. HV6017 .E52 2002 Some full text available
This second edition brings together in four volumes 250 essays on subjects related to criminal conduct, crime prevention and punishment.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand: Criminal Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Videos are available in lengths varying from segments a few minutes long to full, in-depth films of 90 minutes or more.

Websites

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This site includes information and statistics in areas such as crime, criminal offenders, victims, criminal records systems, courts and sentencing. It also provides a list of BJS publications, and press releases.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This website lists the FBI Directors, the top ten fugitives, and the FBI field offices located in major American cities. The site also includes ongoing investigative programs into terrorism, spying, kidnappings, violent crimes, major thefts, etc. Also included are documents, reports, famous cases, and forms for submitting tips to the FBI.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This site covers several major topics: corrections, courts, drugs, crimes, juvenile justice, law enforcement, victims, and grants. NCJRS provides reference and referral services to help users find answers to questions about crime and justice-related policy, research, and practice.
National Institute of Justice (NIJ) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The National Institute of Justice funds scientific studies to provide objective knowledge to decrease crime and advance justice, especially at the local and state levels. Besides funding research, the NIJ sponsors events (including webinars) about relevant issues in the field of criminal justice.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Dave Durfey

Dave Durfey
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: