Chemistry

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

ChemSynthesis Some full text availableopenURL
A freely accessible database of chemicals with synthesis references from twelve respected chemistry journals. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
PubChem Some full text availableopenURL
PubChem is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. The system is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Salem Press - Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned scientific content both in traditional, printed form and online.

Books and Ebooks

Homework Helpers: Chemistry Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This ebook contains the following sections: An introduction to chemistry : The science of chemistry - Measurements and calculations - Atomic structure - Bonding and molecular structure - Chemical formulas - Chemical and nuclear reactions - Stoichiometry - Gases - Solutions, acids, and bases.
Principles of chemistry
Print Location: QD31.3 .P75 2016 Some full text available
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.

Reference and Research

A Dictionary of Chemistry
Print Location: REF QD5 .D4985 2008
The ideal reference resource for college-level students of chemistry. Features more than 4,300 entries covering all aspects of chemistry -- from physical chemistry to biochemistry -- and including topics such as metallurgy, materials science, forensic science, and geology. There are also biographical entries on key figures in the field.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Print Location: REF QD65.H3 2009-2010
Provides a broad range of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers. Includes a section on the properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, as well as detailed sections on biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure, and more.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Print Location: REF QD5.C5 2007
An excellent resource that provides technical data and descriptive information on thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena. Includes descriptions of chemicals and expanded definitions of chemical entities and terminology.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Print Location: REF QD4 .M33 1997
Covers a broad range of topics that are generally associated with chemistry. The various sub-disciplines and branches of chemistry are included, as are many key ideas. There are biographical entries on chemists who have made seminal contributions to chemistry, as well as entries for common substances to allow the reader to see the depth and breadth of chemical thought that is associated with them.

Websites

Chemistry Education Resources - American Chemical Society Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This website from the American Chemical Society includes sections for professionals, educators and students of all levels, including science updates, Cool Science and an interactive periodic table.
ChemSpider Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
ChemSpider is a chemical structure database providing fast access to over 32 million chemical structures and properties on a given substance or drug. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Interactive Periodic Table Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Users can click the tabs at the top to explore each section, and use the buttons to change the view of the periodic table. (Click each element to read detailed information.)
National Science Foundation Some full text availableopenURL
Created "to promote the progress of science," this independent federal agency features discoveries, research, funding guidelines, publications. Its news archives date back to 1995. The National Science Foundation's public investment in science, engineering, education and technology helps to create knowledge and sustain prosperity. Read here about the Internet, microbursts, Web browsers, extrasolar planets, and more.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Deborah Bauder

Deborah Bauder
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: