Careers

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Salem Press- Careers Restricted Resource Some full text available
The online version of the Careers print series, available in the Reference Career Island.  The Careers series is designed for students and those searching for a new career.  This database contains individual titles that examine career fields such as Healthcare, Human Services, Business, Sports and Fitness and the Environment.
Vocational and Career Collection (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Vocations and Careers Collection (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Content from nearly 400 journals re career exploration and industry reviews.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand: Career Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes online career and employment films. Film lengths range from a couple minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing.

Websites

O*Net Online
The O*Net (Occupational Information Network) is a database developed throught the U.S. Department of Labor.  The database contains hundreds of occupational definitions to help students, job seekers businesses and workforce development professionals to understand today's world of work in the United States.  This database was originally the book, The Dictionary of Occupational Titles, published by the labor Department from 1938-1991.
OCC Career and Applied Learning Center [CAL]
The Center offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.

For those students and alumni seeking employment, there is a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.

CAL is located in the Coulter Hall Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585
Occupational Outlook Handbook Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Since the late 1940s, the Bureau of Labor Statistics's Occupational Outlook Handbook has been a nationally recognized source of career information. Revised every 2 years, the Handbook describes job duties, working conditions, training and educational requirements, earnings, and job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Career OneStop Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Is an integrated suite of national web sites sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor which provides employment and career resources.
My Next Move Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Includes information on skills, abilities, and work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions, such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training with current workplace needs.
CNY Works Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Is a local, not-for profit corporation which provides central New York workforce information -- bringing businesses, job seekers, and training providers together with the goal of providing skilled workers for every business and employment for every job seeker.
New York State Job Bank Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Provides access to job listings in your area of New York state, research occupations, and post your resume, as well as help with resume writing, interview techniques, and apprenticeship opportunities.
USA Jobs Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Is the official job site of the United States Federal Government, and offers information and job listings for federal jobs in a wide variety of professional areas.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert O'Boyle

Robert O'Boyle
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: