Business

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles with extensive coverage of business, the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio

Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles and trends, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories as well as full text periodical articles from business magazines and newspapers and trade journals. 


Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Complete provides full text back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Full text coverage is available in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Culinary Arts Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
Flipster Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Easily browse our collection of digital magazines from any computer, laptop, tablet or phone. Currently subscribe to Flipster's Top Ten best sellers, including: Rolling Stone, People, Science News and more..
InfoTrac Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full-text articles covering all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications as well as a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Insurance and Liability Collection
Collection of journals including full text articles on topics related to the insurance industry - including labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues and more.
Newspaper Source Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources,videos & podcasts.  
Small Business Collection (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Full-text articles covering all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications as well as a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Statista is an online resource for statistical data. It provides statistics on more than 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistics are displayed in graphs and can be downloaded in a number of formats including Power Point and Excel. 
 

Books and Ebooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Audio/Visual

Academic Video Online (VAST) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Films on Demand - Business & Economics Restricted Resource
Videos are available in lengths varying from segments a few minutes long to full, in-depth films of 90 minutes or more.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.
TED Talks openURL Resource contains video Resource contains audio
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. TED is one useful source to turn to when looking for topics and ideas for research papers.

Websites

Annual Reports
Search more than 53,000 reports from more than 5000 companies worldwide. Search for individual companies by company name or ticker symbol or by industry. View reports in their original form as PDFs.
Business Dictionary
An online dictionary to quickly and easily look up more than 20,000 definitions of business terms.
Business.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
BusinessUSA uses technology to quickly connect small businesses and exporters to the services and information relevant to them, regardless of where the information is located or which agency's website, call center, or office they go to for help. It is a joint effort of the federal Departments of Commerce, Labor, Veterans Affairs, the Small Business Administration, and ten other federal government departments.
   
CNY Business Journal Some full text available
Good starting place to find information about local and regional businesses, people and events. CNYBJ publishes an annual Book of Lists that includes the most recent data on businesses and nonprofit organizations in the 16-county Central New York Region which is useful for business research and local job hunting.
Data.gov
Find data, tools and resources to conduct research and more.
EDGAR Some full text availableopenURL
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Inc. com
From Inc magazine, advice and tools for small business owners re starting, running and growing their business.
OCC Career and Applied Learning Center [CAL]
The Center offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.

For those students and alumni seeking employment, there is a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.

CAL is located in the Coulter Hall Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585
Onondaga Small Business Development Center
Local organizations can often be a good resource. Here are a few to keep in mind if you are looking for people to interview, shadowing opportunities, community contacts, workshops and additional instruction.
Onondaga Small Business Development Center
Syracuse SCORE
WISE Women’s Business Center
Women TIES
Toastmasters International Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Toastmasters International is a non-profit educational organization that teaches public speaking and leadership skills through a worldwide network of meeting locations. Members improve their speaking and leadership skills by attending one of the 14,350 clubs in 122 countries that make up the global network of meeting locations. (There is a Toastmasters chapter on the OCC campus.)
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Some full text availableopenURL
From the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides up-to-date and accurate economic accounts data for the United States government, including gross domestic product (total and by industry) and a wide range of economic information on personal income, assets, and many other topics, often broken down by geographic area.
Ask A Librarian | Research Help
Ask-A-Librarian
Visit the library in person
Call us 315-498-2334
Email us a question library@sunyocc.edu
Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

Chat live in real time
AskUs 24/7 live chat is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.

Research Help
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.

Research Starters 
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.
OCC Learning Center
OCC Learning Center
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. Tutoring in all subject areas.  Services specific to writing and English are as follows:
 
1. One-on-one tutoring, usually for an hour a week.
 
2. NightWriter - This service combines technology with evening hours to provide nightime help with writing through WCOnline.  Students have the option of chatting with a tutor live or uploading a paper for offline comments Sunday through Thursday evenings, 9-11 PM. Tutors also are available to read and comment on written assignments on those evenings 11 PM to midnight.  Log in to WCOnline to learn more.  
 
Learning Center Phone: 315-498-2103.  Located at G202.
OCC Career Services
Career Services
Offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.
 
Students and alumni seeking employment can find a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.
 
Located in the Coulter Hall Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943