19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
African American Newspapers enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection is the largest collection of North-American-focused historical periodicals available for purchase. Comprised of over 10 million pages, this collection contains approximately 7600 distinct periodical titles, all published between 1691 and 1877. The collection touches on a range of subject areas, including, but not limited to: science, technology, medicine, Native American and African American populations, law, politics, government, music, the arts, literature, language, publishing, agriculture, business and industry, advertising and marketing, religion, philosophy, social movements, military matters, and leisure activities.
Uncover primary source documents in the 19th Century U.S. Newspapers archive. Access millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. For details about which digital archives are included in your library’s Gale Primary Sources interface, check the What’s Inside page.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
Access to full-text and images from Harper's Weekly magazine. Contains primary research material for the study of the American Civil War. Coverage: American Civil War period, 1857-1865.
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext back files for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region: obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of Central New York history, are searchable by keyword and date.
United States History: 100 Milestone Documents website chronicles U. S. History from 1776-1965 through a sequentially-ordered collection of primary sources from the United States National Archives and Records. Each entry includes background information, images of the documents (online or accessible as PDF's), a transcription, links to related documents, and teaching suggestions. These documents focus on America's legal, diplomatic, and political history: 6 Supreme Court decisions, 24 presidential speeches or orders, 44 legislative acts, 20 treaties or international declarations, and 5 documents dealing with important inventions (from the cotton gin to the nuclear bomb).
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned historical content both in traditional, printed form and online. This resource includes access to The Reference Shelf: an online collection of current titles of historical significance. Also includes Defining Documents and Milestone Documents in American History and World History.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
ProQuest Ebook Central is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
Print Location: REF E185.96.A4466 2008
Multivolume set. Index by Birthplace and Realm of Renown.
Print Location: REF E176.A516 1999
Multivolume set with brief biographical information on famous deceased Americans. Indexes include Place of Birth in the United States, Place of Birth Outside the United States and Index by Occupation and Realms of Renown.
Print Location: REF E161 .D35 2012
This is a 4-volume set with illustrations.
Print Location: REF E185.E5453
Print Location: Ref. TX 349 .F5716 2013
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
Print Location: REF HA202 .H57 2006
This multi-volume set provides historical statistics about the US population, work and welfare, economics, governance, and international relations.
Print Location: REF KF8744.S86 2013
Biographical information about their lives and major opinions.
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The site provides free access to more than 170 distinct digital collections, totaling hundreds of thousands of items.
This database presents collections with primary documents about the American South in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, including: "First-person narratives of the American South, 1860-1920" includes diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts and ex-slave narratives; "North American Slave Narratives"; " The Library of Southern Literature" makes available 100 titles in Southern literature; "The Church in the Southern Black Community, Beginnings to 1920"; "The Southern Homefront,1861-1865" documents "non-military aspects of Southern life during the Civil War."
A federated search service from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). GPO MetaLib simultaneously searches more than 50 federal government publication catalogs, federal library catalogs, and specialized indexes.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
The Digital Collections include some historical materials from the 18th through the early 20th century in many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history. While books make up the core collection, Digital Collections also include primary source materials such as letters, diaries , rare manuscripts, maps, music scores and more.
New York City's Department of Records has created a photo database containing 870,000 historic photos of NYC going back to the mid-1800s.