Physical Education

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Focus is on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from 1990-current from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Also hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
This predominantly full-text database includes over 60 journals in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

Websites

National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) Career Page Some full text availableopenURL

SHAPE America's "Field of Study" page provides an overview of various careers including the following:

  • athletic training
  • coaching
  • dance
  • physical education
  • sport management

P.E.Links4U Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Extensive collection of physical education resourcesNew; including K-12 phys ed sites, associations, discussion groups, standards, lesson plans, phys ed academic areas, and more.
PE Central: Becoming a Physical Education Teacher Some full text availableopenURL
This web page provides physical education teacher career information. It addresses questions about education, experience, responsibilities, and more. There is also additional information regarding other aspects of physical educaton teaching on the website.
Physical Education & Exercise Science A.S.
The Associate in Science (A.S.) degree in Physical Education & Exercise Science Studies is suitable for students whose goals include teaching, coaching, sports management, and careers in the broad fitness and wellness fields. This program prepares students for transfer into a bachelor’s degree program in physical education, exercise science, sports management, or other fitness/health-related curricula. The curriculum emphasizes professionalism, wellness lifestyle, health awareness and leadership by providing background knowledge and skills that form the foundation of these fields. Required courses include health, human anatomy and physiology, exercise science, psychology, and required liberal arts courses.
President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
This website includes resources for coaches, teachers, kids, health care and fitness professionals.

Associations

American College of Sports Medicine
ACSM is the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world. With more than 50,000 members and certified professionals worldwide, ACSM is dedicated to advancing and integrating scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert O'Boyle

Robert O'Boyle
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: