Law

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Law Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource
A listing of law journals available online and/or in Coulter Library's Periodicals department.

Books and Ebooks

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Print Location: REF KF154.W47 2011 Some full text available
An authoritative reference source that offers a comprehensive overview of American law. Find this encyclopedia in Coulter Library's Reference section and also online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Print Location: REF JC571.E673 2009 Some full text available Resource contains images
A five-volume set exploring the developing story of human rights.
Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and Global Perspectives
Print Location: REF K583.E53 2007 Some full text available
Looking for a legal resource that offer an international perspective?  Are you trying to compare American law with other jurisdictions? This comprehensive print encyclopedia is an authoritative resource that is easy to use.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Websites

Very Short Introduction: Law Some full text available
Law: A Very Short Introduction explores how law protects our rights, imposes duties on each of us, and establishes a framework for the conduct of almost every social, political, and economic activity. It examines not only the state of law today, but looks at its history, and also its future, as globalization and rapid advances in technology place increasing strain on our current legal system.
American Bar Association (ABA) Some full text availableopenURL
The American Bar Association provides: ongoing legal education, programs to help judges and lawyers in their initiatives to improve the legal system; the website includes resources for the public such as: information on accreditation of law schools, a list of ABA approved law schools, public education (on child custody, personal injury, wills) and public resources (finding attorneys, how courts work, legal aid for servicemen).
FindLaw Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This site provides the following: recent legal news; information on finding an attorney locally or nationally; how to hire a lawyer; a legal dictionary; frequently - asked legal questions; articles and videos on certain subjects; information on issues such as accidents, divorce, bankruptcy, foreclosure, starting a business, estate planning, civil rights, etc. The site also provides certain legal forms and a "Do It Yourself" help guide for making documents such as wills.
Legal Information Institute (LII) Some full text availableopenURL
Powered by Cornell University Law School, this site includes the U.S. Code; Archive of Supreme Court Decisions, (1990- present); Code of Federal Regulation; Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; laws by state. This site also provides laws on popular topics such as family law, criminal law, and labor law. Lawyers are available online to answer questions.
LawHelpNY
LawHelpNY is an online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems. Our mission is to: “Provide and promote access to, high-quality online information about free legal services throughout New York, about legal rights in a broad range of substantive areas, about the court system, and about related advocacy, government and social service organizations. We are committed to providing information that is user-friendly, in English, Spanish, and other languages, in order to help low-income and other vulnerable New Yorkers achieve equal access to justice.”
New York Bar Association
Although this site features information for attorneys, it also provides much information for the community such as: lists of client rights and responsibilities; referrals to attorneys in most counties of New York; free legal assistance in both English and Spanish; interpreters in more than 100 languages; living will and health care proxy forms in English, Spanish, Russian and Chinese. In addition, the New York State Constitution (current through 1/1/2011) and the New York State Register are available on this website.
Onondaga County Bar Association
The Onondaga County Bar Association has served the legal community of Central New York since 1875. Its functions are to "foster growth of the science of law, promote law reform, to facilitate the process of justice, to maintain high standards of ethics in the legal profession, and support worthwhile projects."
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Ask a Librarian | Research Help
Ask-A-Librarian
Visit the library in person
Call us 315-498-2334
Email us a question library@sunyocc.edu
Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

Chat live in real time
AskUs 24/7 live chat is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.

Research Help
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.

Research Starters 
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.
Access research databases from off-campus

The research databases located at: http://library.sunyocc.edu/SP4/subjects/databases.php?letter=All can be accessed from off-campus by entering a valid OCC login and password when prompted.

To obtain an OCC login and password you must contact the OCC Helpdesk. The Helpdesk will require a current OCC ID that has been validated for the current semester. Contact the Helpdesk at 315-498-2999, helpdesk@sunyocc.edu or view their web page for more information.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: