Database List By Subject: American History

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images19th Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesGale Primary Sources
Uncover primary source documents in the 19th Century U.S. Newspapers archive.  Access  millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.  For details about which digital archives are included in your library’s Gale Primary Sources interface, check the What’s Inside page. 
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesHarpWeek
Access to full-text and images from Harper's Weekly magazine. Contains primary research material for the study of the American Civil War. Coverage: American Civil War period, 1857-1865.
more information Some full text available Resource contains imagesJSTOR
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext back files for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles. 
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesPost-Standard (historical)
This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region:  obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of Central New York history, are searchable by keyword and date.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableSalem Press - History
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned historical content both in traditional, printed form and online.  This resource includes access to The Reference Shelf:  an online collection of current titles of historical significance. Also includes Defining Documents and Milestone Documents in American History and World History.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audioU.S. History in Context

U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.


Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains video = Video files