![]() |
Alphabetical Listing |
Alphabetical
Listing | Subject
Listing |
OCC Periodicals |
Trial Databases
![]()
Alphabetical Listing
| A |
| AccuNet/AP Photo Archive - An electronic library containing photos and a selection of photos from the Associated Press's 50 million image print and negative library. The graphics databases date from January 1999. The AP Audio Database contains searchable audio clips dating back to the 1920s, with clips as recent as 48 hours. |
| Academic Search Premier - Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc. Full title list available from EBSCO at: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=1. |
| African American Music - Covering jazz, blues, gospel, and other forms of African American musical expression, Alexander Street's Music Online Listening Collection's African American Music brings 50,000 tracks of music to students, scholars, and patrons. The collection contains recordings by the top names in the history of black American music. Premier artists such as Ma Rainey, Lead Belly, Mahalia Jackson, Alberta Hunter, Tampa Red, and William “Bunk” Johnson are showcased. At least 5,000 of the tracks are rare or never-before-published, and the other 45,000 are in-copyright and included through arrangement with distinguished labels. |
| American Song - Alexander Street's Music Online Listening Collection's American Song provides access to American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. It encompasses the great Article American musical genres including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing—combined with powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy “The Chief” Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, and many others. |
| ArticleFirst - Firstsearch's ArticleFirst provides an index to articles in over 12,000 journals in business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social sciences, and technology. Coverage: 1990-present. Updated: daily. |
| B |
| Britannica - Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopædia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. |
| BuildingGreen Suite - BuildingGreen Suite provides comprehensive, fully researched sustainable design strategies and green products reviews that are essential for anyone involved in the sustainable design field. It features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BG Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. |
| Business & Company Resource Center - Gale's Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. |
| Business Source Premier - Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Full text coverage is available in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. |
| C |
| CINAHL - EBSCO's Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides citations to nursing and allied health literature. Coverage: 1982-present, abstracts since 1986. Update: monthly. |
| The Chronicle - This online version of the print serial covers the current week's developments in education. Includes educational statistics, and a searchable listing of the job advertisements appearing in that week's Chronicle. Complete access includes all of the premium content generally reserved for print subscribers. Full text from the current issue is posted every Monday morning; and the previous issue is added to a searchable archive of issues dating back to September 1989. The Chronicle's web site is updated daily with news of academe from across the nation and around the world. This information is also added to the online archive. |
| Classical Music Library - Alexander Street's Music Online Listening Collection's Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. Selections range from the earliest Gregorian chants to works by modern composers—including symphonic music, vocal and instrumental music, choral works, and other forms. Content is published under licensing agreements with more than 30 music labels, including major labels and independents, with ongoing license negotiations adding to the range of available tracks. |
| Contemporary World Music - Alexander Street's Music Online Listening Collection's Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent, for scholarship and pure enjoyment. |
| CQ Global Researcher - This database offers international perspectives on world issues with original, single-topic reports. Each covered topic features an overview; background and assessment of the current situation; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; chronology on the topic; a sampling of related international perspectives; maps and graphs; bibliographies of key sources; next steps for additional reading; and author profiles. Coverage: 2007 – present. |
| CQ Researcher - CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present. Updated: 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. |
Custom
Newspapers - Infotrac's Custom Newspapers is a collection
of 150 newspapers, both national and international. To see a title list,
please visit: http://www.galegroup.com/tlist/sb5100.html |
| E |
| Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876: This database contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies. |
| EBSCO - This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 800 general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Select also includes 20 full text reference books and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. |
| Education Research Complete - This bibliographic and full text database provided by EBSCOhost covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. |
| ERIC - EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly. |
| F |
| FirstSearch - OCLC's FirstSearch service connects you to information in a wide range of subjects in 38 databases. Select the database you would like to search from the main search page. |
| Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia - This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL): Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Informational brochure available from the vendor. Provided by SUNY. |
| General Science Collection: This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back as far as 1992. |
| GreenFile : GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. |
| H |
| HarpWeek - Access to full-text and images from Harper's Weekly magazine. Contains primary research material for the study of the American Civil War. Coverage: American Civil War period, 1857-1865 |
| Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module - This database provides access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles. Coverage: 1980-present. |
| I |
| Informe - Gale's Informe database provides full-text articles from 50 of the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals and El Nuevo Herald (Miami, FL) Spanish language newspaper. Searches must be conducted in Spanish. Articles are written in Spanish. Coverage: varies Updated: daily. |
| Infotrac Health Reference - Expanded version of the periodical index focusing on health related topics. Includes full text articles, dictionaries and encyclopedias. Updated: daily. |
| Ingenta - Includes over 20,000 popular and scholarly journal titles. You can search the database for relevant materials or set up your own customized search services. Table of contents automatically sent to your email address upon publication. First time users must set up an account. Note "institution subscriptions" info and disregard any payment instructions. |
| L |
| Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts - Indexes more than 690 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. |
| Literature Resource Center - Gale's Literature Resource Center is designed to meet the research needs of undergraduate and high school students. The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale's most used literary databases in a single Internet-searchable service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or combine criteria to create a customized custom search. |
| M |
| Magill’s Medical Guide (on-campus access only) - Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ Magill’s Medical Guide. In its printed form, the current edition of the Guide has grown to five volumes and 3,500 pages. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. |
| MasterFILE Premier - This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 188,323 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal and National Review. Full title list available from EBSCO at: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=6&topicID=5. |
| MEDLINE - MEDLINE via EBSCO provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Updated: daily. |
| Military and Government Collection - Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. |
| N |
| National Fire Codes - The online equivalent of the national standard fire protection codes as published by the national Fire Protection Association. Includes over 300 documents updated daily. |
| Net Library - The SUNYConnect collection includes 1370 ebooks. |
| The New England Journal of Medicine - Widely cited in journals of all medical specialities, its peer reviewed original articles are aimed at physicians and those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992. |
| O |
| Opposing Viewpoints - Covers social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This databases brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites. It takes its name from the Opposing Viewpoints print series published by Greenhaven Press, an imprint of the Gale Group. |
| Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online - The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). |
| R |
| Regional Business News - Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 50 sources. |
| S |
| ScienceDirect - Provides access to over 700 full-text and abstracted Elsevier journals. Covered subjects include Astronomy, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Economics, Energy and Power, Environmental science, Genetics, Immunology and Microbiology, Medicine, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Psychology. |
| Science Reference Center - Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. |
| Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries - Alexander Street's Music Online Listening Collection's Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. This database includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. |
| Syracuse & New York Newspapers - This GALE database provides access to full-text articles from the Syracuse Post-Standard, the New York Times, and other New York state newspapers. To limit your search to the Syracuse Post-Standard go to the Advanced Search screen and type "Syracuse" in the limit by journal(s) or newspaper(s) field. Full text articles are searchable from present date back to the late 1990s for most titles in this database. |
The Syracuse Post-Standard (historical) -This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region -not only obituaries and births but also engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, etc... |
| T |
| TOPICsearch - This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 139,800 articles from more than 4,800 diverse sources. |
| The Twayne Authors Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors - Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles. This database is provided by the Gale Group. |
| W |
| WorldCat - OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material available globally. Coverage: Before 1000 BC - present. Updated: daily. |
![]()
Online
Catalog
| Research Databases |
Helpful Links | About
our Library | News & Notice
OCC Homepage |
Contact Us |
Library Homepage